Tongue in tongs

I had my tongue pierced when I was in the eighth grade. I was walking down the Venice boardwalk with my friend and as we past by the tattoo and piercing parlor he turned to me and said. “If you get your tongue pierced I’ll pay for it!” I don’t remember exactly what I said but I do remember sitting in the what felt like a used dentist chair while the girlfriend of the piercers/tattoo artist sat on my lap and told me how sexy she thought tongue rings were. She was wearing a black one piece stretchy body suit and she must have been high on speed or some sort of upper. I was nervous, excited and surprised that they were actually going to pierce a fifteen year old boys tongue.

The guy who did it had long hair and lots of tattoos. He said it wouldn’t hurt too bad because the middle of the tongue doesn’t have nerve endings like the tip and edges. He said I would feel a pinch and then it would take about 48 hours for it to heal. I sat in the chair and stuck my tongue out, he grabbed it with tongs and medical cloth. My friend and the guys girlfriend both looked on in morbid excitement while he pulled my tongue further out and slowly pushed the needle through the center of my tongue.

It hurt! oh fuck it hurt ! I tried to act tough but the moment he put the needle in and through tongue , my eyes welled up with tears and the pain and swelling began. My parents were out of town for the weekend so I had a day and a half to heal before they returned… My friend asked me how I felt but I couldn’t really talk because my tongue was so swollen and painful. “Eei Heeerrr ree y baa buu I AaRigh”….. to be continued

 

Leave a comment